Letter to Harpo

Written October 11, 2007

Harpo Productions
PO Box 909715
Chicago, IL 60607

 

Dear Oprah;

 

Thank you and your girls from the bottom of my *renewed* heart. I am a stroke survivor and have 152 incredible girls from your school to thank for getting me through perhaps the toughest challenge of my life. Your 152 girls in South Africa have changed my attitude and outlook and have been the driving force to direct me on a new journey moving forward in my life. I believe it was no accident one evening earlier this year when I came across your prime time special on your Leadership Academy for Girls. That show, and those 152 girls, resonated so deeply with me that they have changed my direction in life and my determination to make a difference.

 

I have completed the physical part of my recovery from stroke but until I thank you and your girls somehow personally, the emotional part of my healing will not be complete. Although I can not contribute financially at this time to the school in South Africa, I’d like to send a small gift to each of them to show how much they helped heal my heart. The small heart I’ve enclosed is a symbol to me (and my own children) that we can keep smiling and carry on during tough times. I want to share one of these small gifts with each of your girls to let them know how much of a difference they made during my recovery. Today, I keep these hearts everywhere as a reminder of your girls and their stories and that I still have work to do on my own journey.

 

*I had a stroke at age 39 from a hole in my heart that went undetected from birth until it caused my stroke. Please read my story, I’ve enclosed it with this letter. My story is lengthy, but explains my connection to your girls at the end of the story (I’ve tagged the section marked “Raise Awareness”) and how I intend to make a difference.

 

In case the enclosed story did not make it to you, you can read my story here:

http://www.my-physical-therapy-coach.com/patent-foramen-ovale.html

 

Thank you. Please let me know if it would be acceptable to send my thank you gift to the girls at your school- how can I get it there?

 


My sincerest thank you,

 

David Dansereau

Stroke Survivor

(401) 632-0868 –office

 

PS… I had submitted this thank you through your website several months ago (under link for “show guests that changed you”) but have not received a reply on how I could fulfill this request. Please advise.

It is important that I let your girls know they are already making a difference.

Leave a Reply

