Best Home Stroke Recovery Tips

DavidDansereauAdvancePTMagazineThere are many great questions still coming in from my goal setting webinar for home stroke recovery.  If you attended the live event or rebroadcast and I wasn’t able to answer your questions live, I think I am now caught up and those answers are now in the members area.  Here’s one of the questions that was asked frequently in regards to best home stroke recovery tips to help get your body back in balance:

 

 

Dawn M. asked “What is the best way to regain proper arm and leg movements?”

 

Good question Dawn!

As I mentioned on the webinar, there is no ONE best roadmap to recovery.  There are lots of maps that can be followed, and you may need to follow more than one until you find what works best for you.  I mentioned my PTCMAP on the webinar because I find it is effective at getting patients to write down their goals and start to think about their recovery using a checkbook of sorts to get a starting point when restoring overall health balance. I’ve also had good outcomes with patients using BWSTT (body weight supported treadmill training) as well as FES (functional electric stim) for both the lower and upper extremities.  I provided a resource page for download on Goal Setting that also has links to articles I’ve written over the years on stroke recovery.  Refer to the article I wrote for Advance for PT called Simple Steps where I talk about some of these technologies in more detail.  Here’s the link

http://physical-therapy.advanceweb.com/Archives/Article-Archives/Simple-Steps.aspx

Finally, I’ll be gathering more questions from the rebroadcast until the end of this month and putting more resources together for you to help answer your questions.

Keep them coming!


 

ps– if you want to get on the stroke recovery webinar replay before it goes into our members area> Register Here

bodyinbalancebannerjpg

Leave a Reply

