Here’s “WHY” you need to ask the right stroke recovery questions

Like Know-Stroke.org on Facebook
Like Know-Stroke.org on Facebook

Stroke Recovery Webinar Feedback


Thanks to everyone that attended the webinar and thank you in advance for those that have already registered for a seat to attend the next broadcast.

registernow220

I’ve been going through some of the questions and comments from yesterday’s stroke recovery webinar and both Peter C. and Jenn H. gave similar feedback on how the Smart Moves Goal Setting worksheet helped them connect with their “WHY”. I am glad this was helpful and just wanted to give a little background here “why” I created it for patients to get clear on their goals.

As a physical therapist, one of my most important goals is to motivate the patient, learn what the patient’s true goals are for recovery, and find out what motivated them to action prior to their stroke. In addition, I try to educate at every stage of recovery and update the patient’s home therapy program continuously to keep the stroke recovery plan interesting, challenging and purposeful and that is where it is important to know the patient’s true “WHY”.

Speaking from personal experience during my own stroke recovery, the key to achieving the best possible outcome is teaching your patient along the way the value of hard work, and never giving up but also making that hard work connect with their “WHY”. It is, in the end, your decision if “good enough” is indeed good enough and as I said on the webinar “You Quit, You Lose”. I shared this advice on the webinar, this was one of my dad’s favorite lines I remembered from childhood, but it resonated well with me during my recovery.

Dawn M. asked “What is the best way to regain proper arm and leg movements?”

Good question Dawn. As I mentioned on the webinar, there is no ONE best roadmap to recovery. There are lots of maps that can be followed, and you may need to follow more than one until you find what works best for you. I mentioned my PTCMAP on the webinar because I find it is effective at getting patients to write down their goals and start to think about their recovery using a checkbook of sorts to get a starting point when restoring overall health balance. I’ve also had good outcomes with patients using BWSTT (body weight supported treadmill training) as well as FES (functional electric stim) for both the lower and upper extremities. I provided a resource page for download on Goal Setting that also has links to articles I’ve written over the years on stroke recovery. Refer to the article I wrote for Advance for PT called Simple Steps where I talk about some of these technologies in more detail. Here’s the link

http://physical-therapy.advanceweb.com/Archives/Article-Archives/Simple-Steps.aspx

Finally, I’ll be gathering more questions and putting more resources together for you to help answer your questions. Keep them coming!

Regards,

David Dansereau,MSPT

Know-Stroke.org

PTC Physical Therapy Consulting

David Dansereau at Know-Stroke.org

 

Leave a Reply

