Send in a Faces of Stroke Video for PFO / Stroke Awareness

The National Stroke Association invites you to share your stroke story on video.  Please remember to make mention of PFO and the connection with stroke. I believe they are promoting aFib awareness for stroke this month but until we get a month dedicated to PFO Awareness this will do.  Make a short video and send it to them.  Here’s  how:

Instructions for Sharing Your Faces of Stroke Video with the  National Stroke Association

Send me your YouTube link and I’ll feature you on Know-Stroke.org.  Send me your “Doctors”  request for a PFO “do-over” and I’ll do one better and call you for an interview.  Here’s mine… again done on lunch break so anything is possible, excuse the video hiccups please. And yes, we know PFO patients are survivors too so let it be known.  KNOW-STROKE!

6 Replies to “Send in a Faces of Stroke Video for PFO / Stroke Awareness”

  1. David, you sound great. Can I ask when was your stroke and was your speech messed up at the time? Mine is, and that’s the most frustrating part of this.

    1. Thanks Amy for replying. My stroke was in the Fall of 2006. My speech remained clear but my balance,coordination and overall strength were a mess for some time. Even with that, the most challenging part of my recovery was the unexplained almost daily migraines/headaches that persisted for 9 months. It wasn’t until the day after PFO closure that my head became clear. This is one of the main reasons I continue to blog and be involved with the PFO Research Foundation. Along the way I also learned we (as a society and nation) have so much work to do when it comes to stroke in the young. I’ll add your site to my blogroll, in the meantime keep talking it up:) and you’ll get it back. Never give up!!

  2. So closing your PFO helped the headaches huh? Interesting. I’m excited to see what the new research says. The Closure I trial had a lot of problems.

    1. Don’t get me started on Closure results Amy! Look back at my “dark ages” prv. post on that very topic. Also working on article now on what to expect from RESPECT to update everyone. Thanks for your posts!

      1. hi i was diagnosed in aug 2011 with a pfo and was 27 i am now 28 and trying to find more info about it, i suffer from migraines, and live in boston, any help or info would be great.

Leave a Reply

