Facebook Shutdown by my post on Know-Stroke.org??

Remember I shut down my site last week to protest PIPA/SOPA?  Well, this post explores what could happen if PIPA/SOPA does pass…

Here’s a potential scenario: 

Let’s just pretend (in this Facebook Shutdown scenario) that I make a comment on my blog about an FDA scandal and I mention that there were reports linking politicians on Capitol Hill with “possibly” influencing choices being made by the FDA.  I post this to my blog which gets distributed through the WordPress blog network and automatically gets posted to my Facebook account as well as on my accounts on LinkedIn,Twitter and some of the other health websites which syndicate/RSS my know-stroke blog like Wellsphere.com.  (Follow me here please, just for illustration of course…)

Let’s just say I go on to mention in my post that a “possibly” tainted FDA committee recommended that Bayer be allowed to keep its problematic birth control pills – sold as Yaz and Yasmin – on the market even though the agency’s adverse events reporting system had turned up higher risks of  blood clots, which can cause deep vein thrombosis, pulmonary embolism, stroke, heart attack and death.  My research for my post reveals that thousands of lawsuits have been filed against the company (Bayer) alleging the pills damaged women’s health.  Even with this evidence against this controversial birth control pill, I report on know-stroke.org that the FDA committee still ruled the benefits of having another birth control option on the market outweighed the risks.

SO, what if this story wasn’t just made up?  What if news of this FDA scandal was really reported earlier this month in Washington Monthly, and The Wall Street Journal  which actually followed up with some juicy details about the financial ties between some of the researchers and Bayer.   Here’s an actual article with a good summary of the scary “funny” business really going on at the FDA, see Conflict of Interest Scandal Rocks FDA by Merrill Goozner.

The point of my article is that my post here, even though sourced correctly and accurate could be deemed a threat and my site shut down (if PIPA/SOPA legislation go through) for sharing details of this “possible” funny business.  Also, by the way,  if you don’t really care about my site but you love Facebook, the proposed two bills in Congress RIGHT NOW, (the PIPA/SOPA legislation) would make the cost of enforcing copyright compliance incredibly high for social sites like Facebook and YouTube,etc..   Could these sites also be liable for not screening/censoring my blog content or perhaps your own uploaded videosYES

See how this proposed legislation would make all sites “on the hook” for contributory infringement and their new forced policing role could crush these sites and the way we are able to share information.  Don’t believe me?

Play this TED.com video below “Defend our Freedom to Share (or why SOPA is a bad idea) SHARED on YouTube to draw your own conclusion and see what you can do if you like your internet left alone.

What this legislation really says is that you can’t share until you show US that you aren’t sharing something we don’t like…. scary… I think especially when you look behind the curtain and see who is really being paid to support this proposed legislation.

By David Dansereau for Know-Stroke.org

(I disclose openly that I have no disclosures)

