What You Need to Know about Stroke Recovery (you can learn from a 15 year old SURVIVOR)

How Do You Turn a Bad Situation into an Inspirational Message?

 

“Stroke Recovery is  not easy, but as Jamie Coyle and her friend Tedy Bruschi will say, you have to start by adopting an attitude to “Never Give Up”!  – DP Dansereau, Know-Stroke.org

As a physical therapist one of my most important tasks is to motivate my patient, learn what their true goals are for recovery, and find out what may have motivated them to action in the past (prior to their stroke).

Speaking from personal experience during my own stroke recovery, the key to achieving the best possible outcome is to not  give in and listen to that part of the brain that says, “enough is enough” and instead push through barriers and adopt an attitude to “Never Giving Up”.  Jamie Coyle knew from the first day I met her in her hospital bed that she wanted to return to skating, and her goal was even more specific, she wanted to play hockey again.   As a hockey player myself, it was not hard to connect with her and respond to her question to me at that first meeting,  “Will I skate again”?   I mentioned to her she’d need to keep the faith, maintain focus and most important, do the work.   She has truly owned that message and invested everything into her recovery, and I am so proud to see her back on the ice with her peers doing something she loves.  Way to go Jamie!

Watch the video feature below by Varsity Life’s Melanie Pellowski on Cox  Sports and Channel 10 .  Melanie has been following Jamie’s recovery and in turn has has done a great job helping to spread the word about stroke awareness.

If video does not play from image above click here to play

3 Replies to “What You Need to Know about Stroke Recovery (you can learn from a 15 year old SURVIVOR)”

  1. Original posted at fightfor7.com by Sharon Coyle (Jamie’s mom)
    December 25, 2010
    Hi everyone,
    We have so much to share with you all in regards to a CHRISTMAS MIRACLE but let me fill you in on some background first. First and foremost we wish you all a very Merry Christmas. I”ll take you back to a couple years ago when I first heard of an e-stim machine called the walk-aide. When Jamie was in spaulding they had used a similar machine on her hand. When we heard of the walk-aide Jamie wasn’t ready for it at the time. I contacted blue cross just to ask questions and get some info about the machine and of course ended up angry with our health coverage. We are the strongest country with the weakest health coverage for our children. My grandmother used to have a saying penny wise and dollar foolish. That sums up health coverage to me. I was watching a t.v. show that had a marathon runner on and she was a stroke survivor that could no longer run unless she wore the walk-aide. I remember it like it was yesterday when I coulnd’t believe that anyone could clearly see the benifits to her but her health coverage stated what I hear much to often and that is that machines like these are concidered experimental. Believe it or not they say the same thing about the benifits from acupuncture. Keep in mind that acupuncture is over 4,000 years old. I guess one could claim that blue cross is just a little behind the times. There are many benifits to Jamie with the use of this machine. First off it helps with foot drop so the wearer is safer. It corrects the foot to step properly to avoid long term problems with the knee, hip, and back. It is a full time job caring for a child that has had such a set back medically and advocating for that child is hard work on top of that. As a parent you just want to focus on your child getting better. Being an advocate is a very nice way of saying you have to become a fighter for everything your child needs. No one can ever underestimate a parents love for their child. I will never get tired and like the great Tedy Bruschi put it ‘NEVER GIVE UP’ my fight for Jamie. You all remember Dave Dansereau who Jamie considers part of our family. Dave who advocates for all stroke survivors young and old went on a mission with us to get Jamie the walk-aide. Dave got the ball rolling with a lady named Sarah Rotondo who works for a walk-aide company. Sarah has been working very hard with me and Jamie to win this battle with blue cross. We have never met with Sarah in person however she treats Jamie as if she was her own child and we are so grateful to have been connected with her. This brings me to Melanie Pellowski. She is the best reporter for varsity life if you ask me and Jamie. Melanie has done several stories on Jamie and has helped Jamie to bring awareness to child stroke through these stories and by sending viewers to Jamie site. So now we come upon Christmas Eve. The day was going great. We were enjoying family,friends,and great food. My beat friend Lisa LaZenberry stopped by later in the evening with her husband Chris and son David. I suggested that Jim made us a cocktail to make a toast that we are all healthy and happy. My friend Carin Martinez had given us all the fixings to make magaritas for this occasion. As Jim was making the drinks a text was coming in from Sarah Rotondo. This is the text exactly. ” Hi Sharon,I hope you and the family are looking forward to a festive and relaxing Christmas. I have some great news,someone saw the news piece on Jamie this past Monday and called our office in Austin to donate a walk-aide for Jamie. The walk-aide showed up at my house today and I can come to RI next week to get it programmed for Jamie.” UNBELIEVABLE!!!! CHRISTMAS MIRACLE RIGHT!!! There was not a dry eye in the house. I was trying to fight back the tears as I didn’t want Lisa’s husband to see me cry. I have that rep as being tough and wanted him to keep that idea. This is the best Christmas. A complete stranger caring for my baby. We don’t know who you are but thank GOD for people like you on this planet. It kills me that children in this country have to go without sometimes but know Jamie doesn’t have to. I can’t tell you all how much this means to us. This will be life changing for Jamie. This machine is so expensive but it can accomplish amazing things for the user. I thank you so very much from the bottom of my heart. May God Bless you always. We are humbled by all the support Jamie has and greatful for each and every one of you who help support her. Lastly we would like to thank Nick Mattera for all his work on this web-site so we can remember all the good things to take away from this journey. Not that we will ever forget Friday,December 24th,2010 the day an unknow person made an incredible impact to our daughters recovery. GOD BLESS Jamies mom

Leave a Reply

