Tedy’s Team Fundraiser / Falmouth Road Race

July 2007

To My Friends and Family;

I hope this letter finds you happy and healthy. I am writing to each of you because I have taken on an exciting challenge and I need your help. As you may already be aware, I have become involved with Tedy’s Team and the American Stroke Association.

You might remember Tedy Bruschi of the New England Patriots suffered a stroke in February 2005. I recall during this time there were lots of assumptions and speculation in the media on just what happened to Tedy, but at the time just like many of us I never really understood what could have caused his stroke at such a young age.

In the Fall of 2006 that all changed when I had a stroke from the same cause, a hole in my heart that did not close completely at birth. In my case this heart defect went undetected until it caused my stroke at age 39. Now I can say without hesitation I know more about this condition than I ever thought possible, but the reality is there is still so much more we need to learn. As evidence, if you receive my ezine newsletter online you already know how long it took the best physicians in the state to figure out what had caused my stroke -and that is where I hope to make a difference in raising awareness. (I’ve provided the internet link to my ezine article at the bottom of this letter and I encourage you to learn more by reading my detailed story online.)

I am fortunate to have joined Tedy’s Team in my own efforts to raise awareness. After his recovery, Tedy and his wife Heidi committed themselves to being advocates for stroke awareness. Tedy’s dedication and return to the NFL served as a great inspiration to me during my own recovery. Through this new partnership I have dedicated myself to become an effective local advocate, spokesperson and stroke educator in our area. I have chosen to launch my awareness campaign and take on this new challenge by joining Tedy’s Team in the Falmouth Road Race on Cape Cod in August. While the race will have over 10,000 runners and features some of the world’s elite runners, my goal is simply to complete the event and regardless of my time, it will mean to me I’ve completed my recovery and it is now time to help others.

By now I am sure you’ve been waiting for the part where I ask for your help. I realize many of you may be on a budget…and this probably was not on it! It isn’t easy asking for money, but every dollar I raise through Tedy’s Team and the American Stroke Association will help further stroke research and much needed education.

Due to the amount of my commitment and the personal goals I have set, I can use your help no matter what the amount. Any gift will be greatly appreciated. If you can not donate at this time I can still use your help right now. Simply passing this note along to a friend or copying it and posting at your workplace would be a great start in raising awareness. If you can donate now please also make your employer aware and ask if they would consider a matching gift donation. All contributions are tax-deductible.

I thank you in advance for your support in this challenge. To make a donation, please simply include it in the enclosed postage paid envelope and send it back to me. Or, you may visit my personal website at http://www.know-stroke.org to donate online to my fundraising campaign through the secure Tedy’s Team / American Stroke Association link.

Thanks again-

David Dansereau

PS- Do you have other fundraising ideas or ways you’d like to help? Want me to speak to your group about this topic? Please call me (401) 632-0868. For more information, the link for my ezine article is at: www.my-physical-therapy-coach.com/patent-foramen-ovale.html

Be sure to see my special Thank You offer included with this mailer for all donors who help me to reach my initial September donation goal.

Leave a Reply

